Am I missing something?

I just started playing, and feel like I am missing some large component or stage of the game.

I will go into detail in the hopes that someone can assist with what I have missed.

I am level 13, my current resources are 123 scrap, 1 medkit, 26 gun upgrade parts
My characters are
Bormin
Gaper level 2, 7-9@5%, Broiler 50 mod (50% chance to burn enemies)
Stinger 4-7@15
Gladiator Armor (Armor +2, HP+2)
Explorer Helm (immune to critical hits)
Abilities: Hogrush + Run and Gun

Dux
Crossbow Level 2, 5-7@15%, Ancient eye (10% Critical Chance), Noatun - EMP 30 (+1 Crit damage, 20% chance to disable Robotic enemies)
Stinger 4-7@15%
Aristo Hat (20% Critical Chance from higher ground)
Stalker Vest (1 armor 2 HP)
Abilities: Moth Wings, SkullSplitter

Selma
State Switcher (level 2) 6-9@10%, Ancient sight (20% range), Mimir - Driver 30 (+2 crit damage, 30% chance for knockback
Ancient Piston 4-5@10%
Snazzy Visor (+20% range)
Stalker Vest (1 armor 2 HP)
Abilities:
Tree Hugger (Half cover acts as full cover)
Super Tendons (Reach high places)

I have (To the best of my knowledge) completely cleared The fallen Angel, Hammon’s Cabin, cave of fear, Ark outskirts, East Outpost and the metal Bird. I am unable to beat the crowd on the high road near the cave of fear, nor am I able to sneak past or pick anyone off in the area of the sea of titans.

Essentially, through what inventory I have, there is no way to silently take out key targets such as the Shaman. Then, as soon as I leave stealth, the hunters will either 1 or 2 shot dux or Selma, or 3 shot Bormin. This is even after picking off all the mauraders lurking around.