An interesting read on game AI

I posted this article in regards to a bug with follower targetting:

I’m a developer and I’ve been coding for over 20 years professionally. As for game development I have only modded existing games, mostly focusing on AI behavior and altering game mechanics. So just code work, no modelling or animation.

The article is a good read regardless of your background, in particular the chapter on Advanced Decision Making which is a few scrolls down.
They use a guard as an example for how it could/should behave.

I’m not going to rant about “devs should read this” or “if only Conan had feature X”, but thought it would be useful for others to give some insights in the game dev world.

I do like the concept of fleeing though. When you’re lvl 60, trekking along the south river, thralls would flee at the sight of you.

7 Likes

Nah, bro. Them Cannibals can totally take my lvl 60 and his Flawless gear.

I’m curious when the term AI got abused to mean any programming that makes some virtual thing appear to have some intelligence. AI used to mean human like intelligence, now it means maybe as smart as a cockroach :slight_smile:

It was quite commonly used in gaming terminology before it caught on to the degree you see today.
Mostly when media calls something AI it’s more ML (Machine Learning) though.

AGI (Artificial General Intelligence) aims to be that of human like intelligence.

For the most part in games it’s a matter of “If this, then that” though like the diagrams in the article illustrate well.

thanks mate, i’m curently on study about QA tester and this will surely come handly !