Challenge progression in survival games

To me, the sand storms of this game are a perfect example of challenge progression in a survival game.

I still remember that first sand storm when I was a clueless newbie. Watching things get a little darker, thinking it was becoming night earlier than expected, I was not prepared. I thought it was just cool weather…then the storm hit and I was toast.

As I progressed in the game, my feelings for the storm and challenge they created changed. By the 2nd storm I had shelter, and made it back inside just in time. 3rd and 4th were similar. 5th, I got caught in the open and remember being lucky to find shelter in the landscape,but I kept learning more. Eventually i would not use a helmet so I could see the first hints of the wind stirring. Later clanmates would call out incoming storms if they were west of our main base as we all worked to grow.

Eventually we unlocked sandstorm masks and the challenge shifted to farming the 30 steel to replace those masks lost to bad deaths.

By the time I created my own side base hideaway, the 30 steel was nothing and sand storms went from being dreaded to a nuisance, to something I built my base to watch from the waterfalls as they rolled across the land admiring the beauty, the challenge having been replaced with other aspects of the game (like killing dragons).

To me, this is the perfect progression of a challenge in a survival game. It starts out hard, but eventually becomes nothing as you progress to new challenges.

The same could be said of the gators in this game. Terrifying at level 1, able to solo 3 at once come level 35 or so. Even little things like plant fiber, hard to get at first but after the sickle, no longer a worry. That works.