Siptah purges?!

So, not quite sure who the devs were listening to when they said, “You know what would be a fun idea? Let’s take the most hated game mechanic from Conan Exiles and roll it out to Siptah!” I only play PvE, so maybe it’s different on PvP, and I understand that from the FUNCOM perspective, PvP is where the money is at, I get it.

Having played conan for almost a year, then jumping into Siptah was a choice of necessity. I love the sandbox nature of the game, and love the community, but I’m a builder. After having my base consistently destroyed by teleporting purges, I was ready to end my experience with Conan. Then you introduced Siptah and I was a very happy human.

Now, after reading the devs notes on the upcoming changes I’m left wondering why I gave FUNCOM more of my money. With the proposed changes, you may as well have just added Siptah to Exiles as a map expansion and saved all the trouble.

Granted, I’m not privy to the behind the scenes business side of it and I know FUNCOM spent loads of money in development and advertising for Siptah. I play a lot and only on official servers, and in the past few weeks I’ve noticed a severe drop in players, but it’s recovering. So if the Siptah business model isn’t working, is the ONLY answer to make it into a bastardized child of the two?

I was more than willing to take the difficulties of obtaining thralls as a balance of having no purge. I feel that in that regard, Siptah is superior to Exiles. I’m mean after all, each of us become support characters to our named thralls in Exiles. And in Exiles, if you build to big, you’ll spend the vast majority of your time training thralls to fight the inevitable purge that is heading your way. It is an endless cycle that gets mundane very quickly.