STUCK at "Connecting to Authentication Servers..." After a crash

Okay… I JUST started playing this today. I was practically dragged into the game but one in I was really having fun. Then it just vanished. Now warning, just back to desktop.
(FYI, HIGH TECH user since 1979! I’m 59 now, have been doing this stuff for a VERY long time)

On reload and after entering the password I got he usual window “Connecting to Authentication Servers…”. And Nothing more. Music plays, Launcher menus work, I can CANCEL or quit and reload, which I have done. I checked Task Manager to be sure all was closing completely.
Twice I had to manually close the leftover file. But that was after actual crashes.
I tried several different things INCLUDING reboot. I EVEN changed my password on the web site. I DID PURPOSEFULLY Enter the wrong password to see if it did the same thing.
It did not and was a proper error code and asking for the correct password.
I EVEN put my password into Notepad so I could cut and paste it so I would not typo. I entered my info properly. But was stuck waiting for up to 10 minutes for it to clear.
I am on Windows 10 Pro 1903 Build 18362.113 (SLOW Ring Insider build, VERY Stable)
…up to date drivers…
Asus X370 Prime MB, Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3300Mhz
ASUS Strix GTX-970 4Gb
16Gb Crucial Ballistix 2400 DDR4 (2x8Gb)
Solid 300Mbit Bandwidth with ■■■ with Pings under 50ms.
I have LOTS of power for this to run smoothly. I was definitely online as I was talking to he friend that got me into the game. Through the internet.
But still, in trying to log back in, I cannot get past the Authentication Servers to log in.