Trojan horse virus found in SWL patch from Steam and during installation using install file from SWL website

Hi,

I have been playing SWL via steam for the past 4 months at least, with no problems. This morning, Feb 17, 2021 I noticed that Steam would not let me play SWL and Windows Defender complained that the PatchClient.exe (not sure if exact file) had a virus.

So I uninstalled the Steam version and downloaded the install client from SWL website. Then during the install process Windows Defender again found a trojan horse and would not let me continue.

Is this being fixed? I don’t want to have to manually remove the trojan horse before installing, as I am afraid of missing some steps and letting the virus contaminate my system.

got the trojan too, im a not playing through steam

Is it definitely finding something in the installs, or is there a possibility it is elsewhere on your PC?

Did a few checks on my installs and can’t see a problem with the client(s). Patched and ran all of the clients first so I know that they are running on “latest”. Also downloaded most current signatures for my antivirus.

Scan of Standalone client directory with Kaspersky:

Scan of Steam client directory with Kaspersky:

Scan of Steam client directory on another PC with Defender:

Scan of Standalone client directory on yet another PC with Defender:

There are a few people noting that they have seen alerts from Defender, it’s being discussed on the official Discord server at the moment. No other antivirus seems to be seeing it, so it’s pretty likely it’s a false positive.

Wouldn’t be the first time that false positives have happened, with this or other games. Understandable to be cautious, though.