What Is Role Playing?

Greetings All,
I have been gaming for almost 40 years since my c-64.
What is role playing ?
When I play Skyrym,FO-4, Conan and 100’so of others have 141 games on steam alone.
I am taking the role of my toon.
Is this what they mean?
Thanks

It means acting and speaking like your character would have likely done, rather than chatting in global about last Sundays football game. RP servers generally tend to try to be more immersive than non RP servers. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

2 Likes

There’s a myriad of different ways of answering this. But to try to make sense to someone who’s never done it, I’ll give a shot and try to keep it relatively short.

When you play a game, even a Roleplaying Game like Skyrim or Fallout, you have a personal goal in mind. That is usually to win or beat the game in question. Sometimes you’ll make decisions to see what an outcome will turn out. But at the end of the day, it is you the player rather than the character you are playing.

When you Role-play. You make decisions and take actions that the character you are playing would take as if they had their own personality, emotions, desires, and goals. Those could differ, even vastly than your own.

Depending on how far you go with it, they might even make decisions that are ‘wrong’ and self destructive. Frequently those decisions that character or persona makes is based on the knowledge said character would know rather than what the player knows.

For example, lets say you were playing a Cimmerian dude in Conan Exiles and you meet another player character (PC, a character played by another player). You can see their name over their head. Game mechanics allow for that. Roleplay mechanics do not normally allow for the character to know the name of someone without some form of interaction. Either they ask, and get a response, or someone tells them.

In this sense player knowledge and character knowledge are different.