Before Your Nerf Foundations

Good Day again everyone! Today, I’d like to post my perspective on building blocks in Conan & why there are so many being littered around the map on official pvp. It is true (again, especially on pvp) that players on the server tend to spam foundation blocks & create huge bases over the map.

Is this because they want to be arse holes & block resources? Possibly.

Is it because they’re bored & have nothing else better to do? Probably.

In the case that it’s not those two, then what on earth could it possibly be? Today we’re going to take a deeper dive into what makes people go Bob the builder 👷‍♂️ on CE.

For those of you who may not know, I’m beerus317 on psn. I have been playing Conan for over 3 years & have mostly spent my time on pvp (fighting on or hosting the) servers. I asked random people (on different servers) whom had an immeasurable amount of building mats placed in the world “what your reasoning?” The answers may or may not shock you.

1. They don’t wanna get treb’d. The trebuchet, although time consuming to set up, is an easy, reliable & cheap way to raid bases early on & get the loot. Later in the game, players have access to more powerful demon-fire barrages that bypasses the protection of God bubbles kills that wimp on the other side of the wall with a repair hammer repairing 90k (roughly 12 bombs) worth of damage in 2 or 3 whacks. This makes the trebuchet a very formidable weapon against base squatters.

2. To counter horse pvp :racehorse:. It’s no secret that horses are the bane of any skilled melee combatant. The time of melee combat is becoming more & more a thing of past with each new addition to Conan. Especially the new siptah map. There’s entirety too much open terrain. If you don’t have a mount on that map, it won’t be long before you get jousted. To counter act the viability of horses in pvp, players have decided to create their own uneven terrain by placing blocks down.