Query about aggro in dungeons

I am just learning dungeons and trying to get my head around the aggro concept. Any clarifications would be appreciated.

The way I understand it, the tank’s function is to draw the boss’s and others’ aggro, and the healer tries to keep the tank and dps’s health up. Positionally this means the tank tends to get in front of the boss and the dps’s behind it, with the healer in different positions depending on the situation.

I gather also that healing tends to draw aggro, so the healer has to either stay close to the tank and/or the tank has to strongly draw the aggro of the boss and others.

Early on, I made what I was told was an error of bringing a healing ability – AR’s Unveil Essence – into a dungeon and, as I understand it, using that got me attacked, because the way it works, health has to come from the healer while the dps’s, besides ideally using high damage abilities and passives, are somewhat protected by their heals coming from outside. Is that right?

Additionally, besides healing abilities and passives, there are some gadgets and talismans that heal, for example the Boincan Flask, which turns incoming attacks into heals, and the occult Ankh, which heals when an adversary is damaged. Do these heals also draw boss and other aggro? I know that all gear for a dps should be concentrated on damage, but that is a separate question, and I’m interested in whether these gadget/talisman heals will also draw aggro, as a guide to what I should do as I level up BiS gear – which thanks to not asking these questions earlier on, I didn’t start with.

Thanks!

The thing is, aggro from damage only applies to the target that got hit. Aggro from healing applies to every target that can “see” the heal happen. (I believe it gets 1/2 the aggro of damage on a number by number basis and overhealing is further reduced but not zero)