Newbie Here - Enemy Aggro

Howdy and such. I have recently returned to this game and ran my first instance with other players. I was DPS, but wound up being the tank. I was doing so much more damage than the tank, that I pulled aggro with one attack.

We were all low level, so there was not much of a problem with me pulling aggro, but I am seeing simillar reports in guides and posts. Pulling aggro seems to be a problem, so I came here seeking advice on how top level DPS players do not pull aggro.

Is there some type of required gear to stop it?

Is there a behaviour or conduct I should follow?

Thank you for your help.

1 Like

Look at your abilities; if you have taunts they pull aggro. Check your Anima Allocation too.

I do not have taunts. And I am not high enough level for Anima Allocation.

Try scaling back on initial DPS, i.e. pause a few seconds on your first attack to allow the tank time to get the target’s full attention before you lay into it.

Stop attacking if you do draw aggro, to give the tank time to try and get it back.

I would still advise a scan through all of your slotted actives and passives in case any of them note that they add threat as one of their effects.

1 Like

I am very confident I have no high threat or taunt abilities on my character. I was pulling hate from the tank with one hit.

I am fairly confident I was pulling aggro because the tank was not actually tanking (using high threat abilities or taunt). They were chaos and just spamed Schism, which is not a high threat or taunt ability. I was also 8 levels higher tham them and I have a blue quality weapon.