Some Observations Since Returning From My Latest Hiatus

To start let’s get the game setting particulars out of the way first.

I play SP-Testlive Vanillia (i.e. No mods). Barbaric difficulty.

The first thing I noticed after returning from my break from the game was that my “current” or last testlive base build was completely gone. In fact, I did not even have a saved game file to return to. It was kind of a bummer and a relief at the same time. I was trying to build a pretty big castle and it was taking forever. My location was right outside of the Crevice. I was going to have gateways around the area prior to the Crevice cave entrance. I do not know if this had anything to do with losing my entire save or not. I would definitely have blocked off the cave path to the Mounds of the Dead. However, I was on SP so this doesn’t make much sense to me. Maybe it was because I started playing on a different computer this year from last.

Next, I noticed that it seems like enemy damage that the player incurs seems to have been reduced. It used to be that one overhead smash with a star metal greatsword would almost kill my character. Since returning my character isn’t even down 50% in health when I’m unfortunate enough to not dodge this attack…

Commanding my thralls has gotten worse. I can plant my cursor on an enemy, in range, and command my thrall to attack… only to see that my thrall has been commanded to “move” to that spot instead. Also, when trying to command my thrall to move it seems my character will pick up any rock or branch on the ground… even if I’m not looking at it or whether I can even see it or not. Conversely, I had my thrall get the command to move when I was looking at, with pointer on the target, a branch that I tried to pick up. I am wondering whether these 2 issues are tied together. Perhaps the coding is reversed for what Funcom was trying to accomplish. I do not know.