Changing Unreal version

Hello.

We know the game has a lot of issues, bugs and things that affects server and client performance.
If Unreal version is changed, maybe some of this issues can be resolved?
I’m not a programmer, so i’m just asking it here as a newbie.

This other survival game did this today:

Inb4 multigun types up a massive textwall on why this cannot be.

They’ve changed too much of the engine’s core functionality to slap an upgrade on to it. They’d have to rewrite large portions of the entire game

7 Likes

As the others have said, they flat out said no way here at this time. I would imagine Dune will be UR5 and after that they may be ready to go after the CE successor but too much invested in UR4 and not enough potential meat left on the bone for the pain of an upgrade.

Its a good thought, but unfortunately, its not something feasible for a game several years old; its just too much work for a relatively “old” game. However, UE5 might very well be a good engine for Conan Exiles 2 in the future (several years from now). So, not now, but maybe in the next version of Conan.

How about a copy and paste

Per the last dev stream. Its time stamped if you want to click on the link and listen to Dennis explain it yourself. While this is regards to UE5, it still applies to UE4 versions. They are able to backport some things to various degrees (not all things), and they have done so already. But you will not be seeing anything beyond 4.15

14 Likes
SCUM goes UE 4.27

2 Likes

thanks man!
I didn’t do my job of searching the forum for old posts. lol ^^

2 Likes

I am not sure. Although some of the newer Unreal Engines are imported into the CE engine as noted in the dev stream. IoS uses those newer features although I am unable to quote any unfortunately.

All the benefits that Fortnite got

I read about this somewhere.

But you see the graphics difference between PC and Console, game looks beautiful even on medium settings compared to Console.