Do you like the buff power creep?

• I like the more powerful buffs
  • I don’t like the more powerful buffs

0 voters

So this is a post for more experienced players I guess. It came up in a thread about lances and I didn’t want to derail.

Basically, I am not a fan of the powerful vault armours and other stackable items, and the increase in stat bonuses from armourer tiers. It turns us into superheroes when the feel of the game before was more gritty. I think it allows characters in the vanilla official game to feel too powerful, and especially causes huge balance/meta problems in PVP.

I mean people like winning (shocking, I know), so if it’s there, people are going to use it. Fair enough. But one of the things I really liked about this game when I started playing it was the low key, low magic setting. You couldn’t be good at everything. Even at level 60 you’re just a fragile human in a world of much worse things.

No gear was hugely better than any other in its teir. Of course there was better and worse stuff, but the power spread felt narrower. An experienced player with regular gear and no or minimal buffs might beat a buffed new player with top tier gear. That feels much less likely now. You gotta drink all these potions and wear this goofy goblin armour and shiny red slippers so you can Hulk out like everyone else :roll_eyes:

I imagine these things are handy in PVE. Just wondering what the rest of the players on the forum think? Write below what mode you play and why you answered how you did, if you want.

1 Like

While I agree with this, my question is why play their game to begin with? If someone wants to stat themselves for the 3-5% of their gameplay…let them play their game and ignore them. These types of players last around 30 days on a server before they either get beaten and their ego refuses for them to continue playing or they get bored because that 3-5% of the game is all they want to do and if there is no one to fight, they move on.