In light of recent discovery

I have come across a file name called filechecker and it is a batchfile. It is located within the conansandbox folder/saved/. I do not know what the file does except that I can only deduce its function by its name. I have heard batch file data types work in console windows and are a rudimentary program tasked to do one thing and in this case I presume this is the validation key code. Correct me if I am wrong and I am always open to suggestions but help me out what this does before I decide to open this file. Again, I am a noob when it comes to programing languages and I am slowly learning. (Youtube is the greatest teacher ever). Senpais who are masters at computer science, help me out!

I don’t see anything called “filechecker” in my ConanSandbox/Saved folder. Do you mean CheckGameDB.bat?

If so, that batch file performs a simple, low-level integrity check of every single-player game you currently have saved. It doesn’t even check whether the data those databases hold is valid in terms of game logic, it just checks the soundness of the underlying SQLite database. For more detailed technical information, click here.

As for the “key code”, the game doesn’t perform that check on its own, at least on the Steam platform. I don’t have it bought on other platforms, so I can’t tell you about those, but when it comes to Steam, it uses Valve’s Steamworks SDK to integrate with Steam. Steamworks API initialization fails if you’re currently not running Steam, or if you’re running it but you don’t have permission to play it. The permission to play it can come from either owning it with your currently logged in (even if in offline mode) Steam user, or from being given that permission through Steam’s family sharing.