Making PvP Strategic - Blocking, Kicking, Knockdowns

Hello everyone,

I started playing Conan Exiles on March 11, 2017 - about a month and a half after Early Access release. I have just above 1000 hours played, so I have my fair share of experiences playing this game. I only note these things because I think it’ll better my stance on the state of the game.

First, I would like to say I love the combat update, it breathes life into using a variety of weapons, but I feel like this doesn’t hit the mark for PvP. Polearms/Spears are undeniably the best weapon for PvP - nothing else comes close. Sure, you could make a case for 2h swords, but 9 times out of 10, the spear will win. Daggers, sword & board, 2h maces and bows have absolutely no place in PvP, and that can be frustrating for people that want to change it up. In a game where PvP is so prominent, counter-options for certain play-styles should be available. Right now, a spear wins in all circumstances, which shouldn’t be the case - and is rather boring.

Back in the beginning of Conan Exiles, before the combat update, the 2h mace reigned supreme. When used correctly, a player could permanently stun a player if the opposing didn’t use what the “roll” option is now to escape from the full duration of the stun. This resulted in many interesting 1v1 situations where stunning and stun-breaking were in constant use. This was nerfed after some time, and the ancient khopesh became the best weapon - resulting in the non-stop spam of left click to kill someone - again, boring. In my opinion, the 2h mace stun game was MUCH more fun than the current iteration of constant running and spearing.