Memory leak/Unstable client

I’ve been playing AO for the past two months, I originally started with new engine but with it being pretty unreliable and crashing constantly, I reverted back to the old engine.

To start off with the old engine was a lot more smooth initially, over time it became more and more unstable e.g running too fast in cities will cause the screen to freeze briefly, with it being an old mmo I honestly didn’t mind it tbh, it was more of an inconvenience than anything.

Two weeks after this started however, the screen freezes started getting worse to the point where it got pretty annoying but it was still down to only happening in cities.

Fast forward to today, I turn my PC on, launch AO launcher, and notice that nothing seems to be happening at all, press it again, still nothing. After 5 minutes the launcher finally appears (twice), I try start the client and it just bugs out and goes unresponsive, force close it in task manager, try again, no luck.

After restarting the PC I tried it again, it works this time, I manage to get to the character screen after logging in, but all of my characters are invisible, I try logging in to one anyway and the client goes unresponsive followed by a black screen, try and force close it in task manager and it legit ■■■■■ itself.

Repeat trying to log in, manage to actually get into the game this time but the screen freezes are beyond playable at this point, they last over 10 seconds and sometimes the screen just goes black.

I tried looking at other topics but none of them seem to be experiencing the same problem besides on that is black screen on startup, I was wondering if anyone else is having this problem and knows a fix?

If u are using a harddisk u should check it for errors with a SMART tool.
All u described sounds like bad sectors on the HDD.