Player Economy (Could this work?)

I’ve been playing Exiles on and off for about three years now, and I see a lot of servers with really low server pops. This game has so much potential and I would love to see the populations flourish. Just an idea I thought might help to grow the community in-game…

A lot of MMOs with decent-sized pops have a great player-based economy - as in, most items you procure in-game come from another player who’s crafted it and sold it via a vendor or in-game auction house. Would this be something we could implement here?

I could see players setting up “shops” of all varieties (Armor, weapons, pets, alchemy, thralls, etc.) where they sell or trade these items with others. The in-game currency is already there (gold and silver coins). Shopkeepers/vendors could be thralls designated to run the shops (and maybe create a new type of thrall? A “Merchant”, with different skill levels affecting buying and selling prices, etc.?

I know what you’re saying: “But we can already craft most of the things we need…why buy them from someone else?” How about an “Advanced Crafting System”, where players can specialize in certain weapons, armor, pet or thrall training, potions, etc.? Having to spend points in these specializations means that they can’t specialize in all skills, thus, they would be dependent upon one another for the really good quality stuff. Sure, each player could basically craft all of their essentials, but if they wanted the really high-end gear it would be something they’d have to purchase from another player.

These items could also require really specific materials and skills, which could also mean more “quests” and content to seek these things out. Other players could hunt for these rare materials and sell them to the artisans for a pretty penny also.