The “grace period” and a count for thrall cap

Maybe this is my mistake for thinking it would be a little easier to manage this horrible cap, and thinking that we would be able to use the limit functionality to some kind of advantage, but I am so disgusted by the way the grace period is being “implemented” that I am beside myself.

Let me say that while I have never coded a video game, I have been a professional software developer/programmer for almost 2 decades now. I know that in any piece of software, taking a value that is known and tracked already in a system and putting it on a screen is probably the easiest thing in the world that can be done.

So where is the thrall counter?

I at least thought that we would be able to use the “over the limit” warning message during the grace period to help us cull the old thralls and deploy the new, but as I see this grace period will pass with no way to know where you are in regards to the limit and then when everything is turned on you’ll just start losing thralls.

That is ridiculous.

I hate this thrall cap, I think it was implemented without much thought and certainly without anything being introduced to substitute for them in terms of base defense, but I am doing my best to adjust. However not being able to keep track of what I have makes it pretty tough to get down to the low number I will be able to keep with any accuracy.

A thrall counter needs to be implemented on the clan screen, with a hotfix, before it is turned on. There is absolutely no excuse for not doing so.

2 Likes

To be brutally honest, that’s what mystifies me too. Out of my 20+ years in software development, I’ve only spent 2 working in games industry, but even so I know that this is an easy thing to do. Not trivial, because nothing in games is trivial, but easy.

Since I’m convinced the problem doesn’t lie in technical difficulty, I have a couple of theories: