Don't be a Sucker! (Prosumer)

I never spend time on test servers for any game.

This is because of two reasons really. One I was a professional developer for decades, so I don’t care to do that work in my spare times, but more importantly:

Alvin Toffler in 1980 coined the term “prosumer”. This is a person who not only is a consumer for a company, but also produces value for them (in the manner of a laborer.)

If you ever played on test game servers and sent in bug reports, etc., you provided free labor to a company that you already paid. That is, a company that should just hire more testers, but don’t have to because a feature of gaming culture arose whereby customers get a sense of “empowerment” from the interaction. (Looking at the content and quality of the 2.1 release, do you really feel like part of the team?)

But they are simply stealing your time. You should be paid to do this! (The same is true for self-check-out lines and EVERY social media app).

Point is, it’s okay to give your work away, but just know you’re doing it. Odds are, your job is badly exploiting you all day–don’t go home and opt into being exploited even more…

20 Likes

Funny, I was a small indie game developer for over a decade. My best testers were those passionate players who loved my games and were willing to put up with bugs and undeveloped mechanics to help me make the game even better. They actually enjoyed this process. They could have gardened, or rock climbed or played other games but they chose to help me out and I don’t consider them suckers. Just because Funcom is a large company, doesn’t mean people can’t enjoy donating their time and passion to help them create better games. They are getting something out of it too: the feeling of participating and helping out a game that they love.

15 Likes

Agreed. It’s the reason people volunteer in non-profit organizations, they feel the cause is worth the effort.

6 Likes