Lost my character on PS4 Co-op

Game mode: [Online | Co-op ]
Problem: [Crash | Bug | Performance | Misc]
Region: [Europe]

Hey!

I’m new to this game and these forums. So If anyone has any tips going forward with the following problem, I sure would appreciate it. Also apoligies for a long post as I’m trying to go through the details so someone might be able to point me what went wrong.

Started playing last weekend a single player game on PS4. Chose the barbaric difficulty and once I got in to the game, changed some settings more to my liking (longer Day/night cycle, and longer times of day, adjusted decay and abandoment settings etc.) Had to do this several times and seek some advise from the web on how to make the settings actually stay on without going through the fuss of changing them every time I continue the game. Anyhow got it working eventually.

Played for a while, despite having some major framerate issues every once in a while and some minor bugs and also experienced a loss of few levels and progress(must have been a save issue), but in overall I was enjoying the game. I could live with these. So after reaching level 23 or so I decided to buy the season 1 and 2 expansions.

Also had a friend join in at this point, so activated the Co-op mode for the same single player save I had already been playing. Friend joins in, all good. Yay! Create a clan so he can access the small base and few crafting tables I had build.