Newbie Needs Help, please

I am new to Conan Exiles and I am a staunch PvE player. I am currently at level 21. I have spent several hours running around gathering resources primarily near the area of the broken bridge. I have a small base set up just west of the bridge. Actually, it is more like a shack than anything else. That said, I am looking to build a compound settlement type thing somewhere close to the best resources… i.e. 3rd and 4th tier areas.

As I said, I am a newbie… like a fish out of water. Therefore, I would welcome any help, from anyone willing to offer it?

Eventually, three of four friends of mine are going to start a server. We are mostly players from Fallout 4 and ESO. They love to build elaborate structures. Me, not so much so it is a very steep learning curve. Currently, they have settlements in the Jungle/swamp area and they are all level 60. Thank you in advance for your kindness.

I would stay away from the Jungle. Resources are available but the area is not rich. I would look at the green areas in the north close to the 2 thrall capitals marked with a blue elephant icon and green eagle icon i.e Mounds of the Dead and New Asagarth.

Your primary goal is to get lvl 60 and get the best fighter thrall you have access to. Everything would be easy afterwards. There are some videos of how to level quickly by either crafting or killing specific monsters which give a lot of xp.

Welcome to this forum and to CE :slight_smile:

As a 1st step into building stuff, you should make sure you understand how the building decay system works to avoid bad surprises. Make sure to understand how the purge system works, once again to avoid bad surprises. And Make sure to understand how to defend agaisnt purges.

That would be a good start before picking the spot where to build. Because ressources are not the only consideration to examine when building. Accessability and defence are major ones too. :slight_smile:

1 Like