Why PvP if you aren't going to fight

, ,

OK I was about to D-rail another topic over this but one of the vets on here put out a recognition to my specific playing style (playing in PVP but just don’t immediately attack everything and everyone) and HST (short hand for He/she/they and better than she/he/they) didn’t quite understand it. I know I’m not alone so I created this thread for those that play as I do (PVP but not to be king of hte hill or instant competitive) why we do it.

So I play in PVP because, at heart, I am a builder and love to create. However creating castles, hidey holes, treehouses, etc in a game without the ability to vet functionality of defenses is just plan old boring. Plus the game outside of the players doesn’t provide the adrenaline that it did when I first started. I don’t play PVP to fight but to build and compete in a strategic way. It’s not about fighting and defending a base that you continue to stay int but can you outsmart me and take out my means of production in the time allotted? Can I successfully build an empire on the map in the middle of constant warfare of diva personalities without them even knowing I exist? And now can I do all of this and still remain in the ToS? This is the game I play. Those that fight are entertaining but I get more enjoyment watching the sun come up in game; another day tto enjoy.

So what about others that do the same thing?

12 Likes

That’s how I play PVP too. I could, in theory, build castles and stuff on a PVE server, but just knowing that it can be made of Paper Mache and withstand a God takes the fun out of it. Half the fun of building a castle is defending it from a siege.

I play PVP because that small adrenaline rush when I meet someone else while out farming is great. Knowing that my castle could fall at any moment to a well planned raid. Knowing that peace is a limited resource and farming up as much as I can while the peace lasts. These are the reasons that I play PVP.