Is my PC getting too old for the game?

First, let me just say that I love Conan Exiles. I have most of the DLC, and have logged just under 4,000 hours on the game. As a survivor of stroke, I have dived into the worlds of Exiles and Siptah with enthusiasm, so I wanted to thank you for the fun!

I’m hoping that you can help me address a problem I am having with the game recently.

The engine is crashing a lot, either completely freezing the system or giving a 3D Device error. When I started playing - some years ago now - I was able to run the game on “Ultra” graphics mode, with other apps (media streaming service) running in the background. Nowadays, if I attempt to play on Ultra, it’s a matter of minutes before the game crashes, even with nothing else running in the background. I find that using “low” graphics mode mitigates the problem a little, but the program still crashes or reports a 3d device error soon enough.

My question to you is : Is my system getting too old to keep up with updates to the game and my migration from Windows 8 to Windows 10?

Gigabyte z75 gaming 5
Intel i5
GeForce GTX 680 Classified
32 GB Memory
Seagate SSD
Windows 10

As you can see, it’s an older system, but runs all of my other apps without problems.

Thanks for any help you can give.

1 Like

Hi,

• First do not upgrade win 8 to win 10 but format and install a clean win 10.
  • Then uprade you graphic card to a rtx 2060 for example, work great for me ! :slight_smile:
2 Likes

The Windows was a clean install. And I’m not really in a position to buy a new GPU, hence the question.

Thanks for the speedy reply, though!

May be :

• check steam integrity of game files
  • install conan again
  • update drivers with GeForce experience
  • stay in HD 1920 x 1080, ultra.

Good luck :slight_smile:

2 Likes

screenshot of it or it’s a an augery you’re asking, and it’s not really right forum for that

pretty much, pather point platform is ancient history, GPU is also bit dusty