Thoughts On the Future Of Anarchy Online

I started playing AO way back when it was still brand new, when engi bots got stuck in every door and every table. When door missions always opened into a big room with 2-3 mobs that would often curb stomp most unprepared parties. So many bugs, but so many memories.

The problem with AO right now is its old, dated, and everyone’s a god. New players can not get invested, the economy is busted beyond all hope, players have very little to aim for or desire anymore. Its sad, but even as my favorite MMO of all time, I find that I simply can not play with the same thrill I once had. Its just going through to motions.

Thats when I had a wonderful thought. What would it be like if they opened a brand new sever. A fresh start. No character transfers, no established economy, no 220’s or high level anything. A clean sweep of fertile ground for players new and old to stake a new claim in. Level up, develop trade skills and bring new life back into AO with a jump start. It would be like a gold rush. Sure vets would have an advantage knowing what they need and where and how to get it. But starting on a evening footing… the need for others would super charge the community into action. The economy’s wheel would start to turn again and player engagement would sky rocket. It would be so fun…

So what is everyone elses thoughts on this? AO being in maintenance mod is kind of sad, but even something as simple as a fresh start might be just enough to bring the magic back.

I Like the Idea of a fresh start server, but if I could be picky and choose an expansion to play then I would choose Pre-Alien Invasion Anarchy Online, with the only expansions being Shadowlands and Notum Wars. This was a time when itemization was interesting, power creep was low, and the game had a minimal amount of “dead content.”

It would take less than 6 months for experienced players to once again become “gods” on fresh server.